Can't read this e-mail? click here to view it online.
2011 CAMA E-Brief Partner: January 12, 2011            

Nominations Being Accepted for 2011 CAMA Awards Program

Experience has demonstrated that CAMA members have every right to be proud when it comes to excellence in municipal management. Year-after-year there are countless examples of outstanding projects and programs designed, developed and implemented in Canadian municipalities to improve the quality of life for citizens.

It’s time once again to start thinking about sharing your achievements and successes with your municipal colleagues, to recognize the work of your employees, and to receive the recognition of your profession.  It’s time to prepare a nomination for the 2011 CAMA Awards Program. Nomination packages will be mailed out this week and the deadline for applications is March 1, 2011. Please note that this year’s submissions will once again only be accepted in electronic format by the CAMA National Office. Press releases will be issued for all winning submissions along with a presentation made to the Mayor and Council. The awards will be presented at the CAMA Annual Conference being held in Halifax, NS on June 1, 2011 by Board member and Awards Chairman, Mr. Patrick Moyle and CAMA President, Mr. Jacques Des Ormeaux.

Each year, the CAMA awards program recognizes program excellence in three areas: Education, Environment and the Willis Award for Innovation. Because Canada has a unique mixture of small and large communities, awards are granted according to population.  This year we are pleased to offer three population categories:  for municipalities with a population under 20,000, for municipalities with a population between 20,001 and 100,000, and for those over 100,000.  Three awards are granted in each of the above-noted categories for a total of nine awards.

To learn more, or to obtain the nomination forms online, visit or call the CAMA National Office at 1-866-771-2262.

Board Positions Opening for 2011-2012

In accordance with the requirements of the CAMA by-laws that a board member serve no more than four consecutive years unless she/he serves as a member of the executive committee, two Board positions have opened up for 2011-2012, the position for Newfoundland and Labrador which is currently vacant due to the retirement of Ron Penney on January 1st, 2011, and the Director-At-Large position currently being filled by President Jacques Des Ormeaux.
Chris MacPherson, Immediate Past President of CAMA and Chair of the Nominating Committee invites CAMA members to express their interest in letting their name stand for the election at the Annual General Meeting on May 31st, 2011 in Halifax, Nova Scotia.  Please note that CAMA members from throughout Canada may express an interest in being a Director-At-Large, while the position for Newfoundland and Labrador must be filled by a CAMA member from that Province only.  The length of term is one year, renewable annually at the subsequent Annual Meeting for a total of four consecutive years of service.   Technically, all positions can be challenged through a nomination on the floor at the Annual General Meeting. 
Nominations to the Board of Directors can be made by any CAMA member by completing the nomination form which can be found on the following link on the CAMA website: and attaching a copy of the nominee’s bio.  Completed applications can be forwarded to Ms. Jennifer Goodine at ( no later than March 1st, 2011.
I hope everyone is having a great start to 2011 and we look forward to seeing as many members as possible at our national conference in Halifax in May!
Chris MacPherson, Past President/
Chair of the Nominating Committee 

Honourary Membership for Life Award Program Now Accepting Nominations

CAMA is now accepting nominations for the Honourary Membership for Life Award. The award
recognizes municipal professionals based on length of service to local government, membership in CAMA for at least ten years, making a significant contribution to CAMA and to their community, as well as outstanding contribution to local government administration and the professional community at the local, regional, provincial or national level.

Past recipients include John Robison, Cy Armstrong, the late Robert Byron, Wes Lancaster, Murray MacLean, Paul Stapleton, Richard White, and Bob Linner. The deadline to nominate one of your municipal colleagues for this unique honour is February 15, 2011. There is no fee to nominate someone. For more on the Honourary Membership for Life Award, visit

JLT and CAMA Continues Partnership

Jardine Lloyd Thompson Canada Inc. is pleased to announce their continued partnership with CAMA as the e-Brief sponsor.  CAMA members want to see new products and services -- JLT introduces DisasterPhone!  This Disaster Recovery Telecommunication Service is an emergency measures and disaster recovery service that provides subscribers with immediate restoration of incoming call handling and distribution.  This exclusive service is only available to the Canadian public sector through JLT and will assist your organization in maintaining compliance with provincial Emergency Measures legislation.  Contact Luke Neal or visit for more information.

CAMA Conference Program & On-Line Registration Available in February

The program and on-line registration for the 2011 Annual Conference to be held in Halifax, NS from May 30 to June 1, 2011 will be made available in February 2011.  CAMA members will be able to register online for the Conference once again this year - watch for details in the future.

ICMA Annual Awards Program Now Open! Deadline for Nominations: March 11

ICMA annually recognizes outstanding contributions to the local government management profession through its Annual Awards Program.  Recipients in the professional and program excellence awards categories will be recognized during ICMA's 97th Annual Conference in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, September 18-21 and highlighted in a fall issue of ICMA's PM magazine.  Visit for complete information on the program and the nomination process.  Why not celebrate the new year by nominating your colleague, your community, or yourself for a 2011 ICMA Annual Award.  Nominations are accepted through March 11, 2011.      Ca     

Welcome New Members

Welcome to the following new members:

Kuthula Matshazi, Consultant, KPMG

Bob Payette, Manager of Community & Protective Services, Town of Beaumont, AB

Henry W. Taylor, Chief Administrative Officer, Town of Gibbons, AB

Susan Wood, Director of Corporate Services, Town of Rocky Mountain House, AB

Todd Becker, Chief Administrative Officer, Town of Rocky Mountain House, AB

Do you have a story for our next issue?
Let us know by contacting
CAMA e-Brief is published every two weeks. Watch for the next issue during the week of January 24th: 
To view the last CAMA e-Brief, visit:
Job Scene is also distributed every week. The Next issue will appear on: January 17th.
To view the latest Jobs go to:
To have an item included in e-Brief, please contact
To unsubscribe from this list simply reply to this email, or send an email to, Subject: UNSUBSCRIBE.
Platinum Sponsor
Gold Sponsors