Can't read this e-mail? click here to view it online.
2010 CAMA E-Brief Partner: December 22, 2010            

Seasons Greetings!

On behalf of the CAMA Board of Directors and staff, there is no time more fitting to say "Thank You" and to wish you a Happy Holiday Season and a New Year of health, happiness and prosperity. 

2011 Awards of Excellence Program Changes

New this year, there will be three population categories offered for the awards program for municipalities:

  1. Under 20,000;
  2. Between 20,001 and 100,000; 
  3. and over 100,000.  

Three awards are granted in each of the following categories of education, environment and innovation for a total of nine awards. Members are encouraged to submit proposals by March 4th, 2011. Watch for the nomination forms which will be mailed out in mid-January.

Spruce Grove City Manager Recipient of Dedicated CAO Award

Congratulations to Former CAMA President and City of Spruce Grove Chief Administrative Officer (CAO) and City Manager, Douglas Lagore, who was recently recognized at the AUMA (Alberta Urban Municipalities Association) convention by being presented with the Dedicated Chief Administrative Officer Award for 2010.     The award, presented jointly between the AUMA and SLGM (Society of Local Government Managers), recognizes long-term excellence and dedication to municipal government and chief administrative management. 

“Doug has certainly established himself as an effective and professional CAO,” said Spruce Grove Mayor Stuart Houston. “He has proven time and again his ability to face the challenges of running a municipality under any circumstance. He is visionary, trustworthy, results-oriented and service driven. For that, we are lucky to have him in our city.”  As City Manager and CAO, Doug’s role as the link between council and administration is well served by his strong ability to bring the governance and administration teams together to work as one in a trusting and respectful environment. He has over 30 years experience in the field of municipal government. Doug joined the City of Spruce Grove as CAO in 2005.

Canada’s Most Powerful Women: Top 100 Hall of Fame : Janice Baker

Congratulation to CAMA member and the City of Mississauga’s City Manager and CAO, Janice Baker, who was inducted into Canada’s Most Powerful Women: Top 100 Hall of Fame by the Women's Executive Network (WXN) as part of the 2010 Canada's Most Powerful Women: Top 100 Awards Summit & Gala held in Toronto on November 30, 2010.

"To be recognized with Canada’s most powerful women by an organization dedicated to the advancement of women is an honour," said City Manager and CAO Janice Baker. "I hope other women are encouraged to enter into leadership roles and use their skills and talents to benefit their communities and organizations while pursuing career development."

Baker won previously three times in the Public Sector Leaders Category in 2005, 2007 and 2009 which resulted in her induction into the Hall of Fame this year.The Public Sector Leaders Category recognizes women who hold senior positions in Canada’s public sector organizations. Nominees were judged on the following four criteria: Management Role; Vision and Leadership; Corporate Performance; Community Service, and were selected from federal government departments, provincial ministries and universities, municipalities, hospitals and regional health authorities. 

Gail Stephens, The City of Victoria City Manager, 2010 Canada's Most Powerful Women: Top 100™ Awards - Public Sector Leaders

Congratulations to Gail Stephens, The City of Victoria City Manager, for being a recipient of the prestigious 2010 Canada's Most Powerful Women: Top 100™ Awards, in the Public Sector Leaders category.

The Canada's Most Powerful Women: Top 100 Awards is Canada’s most recognizable award for the country's highest achieving female leaders in the private, public and not-for-profit sectors. Ms. Stephens joins a community of 522 women across Canada who has received this recognition. Gail Stephens accepted the role of City Manager for the City of Victoria in July 2009.  Ms. Stephens was the first Chief Administrative Officer for the City of Winnipeg (1998- 2003), replacing a Board of Commissioners. As CAO she helped lead a diverse team of departments including Police, Fire/Paramedics, Transit, Community Services, Water and Waste, and Public Works to become one of the most cost effective city governments in Canada with a citizen satisfaction rating of over 92%. This is the second time Ms. Stephens has received this distinction; she was previously the recipient of the Canada’s Most Powerful Women: Top 100 Award in 2003.  

Mayor Dean Fortin notes that "the citizens of Victoria are well served by Gail's outstanding leadership.  Her expertise and experiences are helping our City grow and thrive, but Gail is more than just an oustanding public servant; she is an outstanding role model and mentor.  This is what makes her a real leader."

Additional Hotel Booked for the 2011 CAMA Conference!

A second block of rooms has been secured at the Delta Barrington Hotel which is across the street from the Delta Halifax located at 1875 Barrington Street with the same special Conference rates being offered:
Type of Room             Single/Double Rate
Delta Room                             $174.00
Premier Room                        $196.00
Deluxe Room                          $214.00
Signature Club Room             $224.00
*Please note that the above-noted rates are subject to the current 2.0% Halifax Regional Municipality Marketing Levy and the current 15% HST.
To make a room reservation, please call the Reservations Department at 1-888-423-3582 or by e-mail at  To ensure the special rate quoted above, please identify yourself as attending the CAMA Conference or Block Code "BOCAMA". Reservations can also be made by using the following link:  This room block will also be open until April 25th, 2011.

Welcome New Members

Welcome to the following new members:

John McKee, Chief Administrative Officer, Hamlet of Fort Liard, NT

Peter Groenen, Senior Administrative Officer, Hamlet of Enterprise, NT

Terry Molenkamp, Senior Administrative Officer, Town of Hay River, NT

Murray Millward, Chief Administrative Officer, Cardston County, AB

Don Boyle, Chief Administrative Officer, The Corporation of Haldimand County, ON

Stephen Conway, Chief Administrative Officer, Town of Watson Lake, YT

Marie Blackmore, Town Clerk/Treasurer, Town of Clarenville, NL

Robert Hiscock, Chief Administrative Officer, Town of Clarenville, NL

Do you have a story for our next issue?
Let us know by contacting
CAMA e-Brief is published every two weeks. Watch for the next issue on:  Monday, January 10, 2011.
To view the last CAMA e-Brief, visit:
Job Scene is also distributed every week. The Next issue will appear on: Monday, January 3, 2011.
To view the latest Jobs go to:
To have an item included in e-Brief, please contact
To unsubscribe from this list simply reply to this email, or send an email to, Subject: UNSUBSCRIBE.
Platinum Sponsor
Gold Sponsors